An Attitude of Gratitude

President Monson gave a talk in 1992 titled “An Attitude of Gratitude” quoting from Luke 17 about the story of the 10 lepers that Jesus healed:

“And one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, and with a loud voice glorified God,

“And fell down on his face at his feet, giving him thanks: and he was a Samaritan.

“And Jesus answering said, Were there not ten cleansed? but where are the nine?

“There are not found that returned to give glory to God, save this stranger.” (Luke 17:15-18)

President Monson then goes on to talk about adopting an attitude of gratitude, and how to look for those positives in life when we feel overwhelmed by a negative perspective or a difficult trial. This lesson feels so pertinent, because it is easy to get caught in that “woe is me” attitude where we only see the negative things we wish we could change or do better at, or that we just like to complain about. Gratitude allows us to look beyond ourselves and focus on how many things are going right, and how much there is to have joy about.

I try to apply this idea to my life, but often forget in the midst of my trials or busy schedule. I will become like the nine lepers who did not think to take a minute to appreciate the glorious miracle and gift they had been given, instead of turning back to the Master Healer and recognizing just how much I have to be grateful for. Our Savior is always available, He is always willing to help us and be our companion. He can heal, lift, carry, succor, and redeem. That is something for which we must always give our gratitude, that Christ performed the Atonement and saved us from an unfortunate fate.

I am grateful for the blessings I have access to every day, for those around me and those looking out for me from above. I know our Savior Jesus Christ performed the Atonement so we would never be alone, and for this I am truly grateful. I know as we look for the many blessings and things we have to be grateful for, we can be happier and better able to make it through this life.

Leave a Reply

