In His Strength I Can Do All Things

Ammon is one of the incredible scripture heroes of the Book of Mormon, and one of ones I look up to the most. He not only serves as an amazing missionary to those who didn’t know God, but He teaches some amazing lessons through his example and exhortations. One of my favorite Book of Mormon passages is Alma 26, where Ammon reflects on his mission to the Lamanites and sees how much they’ve been able to do with the Lord’s help.

Ammon exclaims in Alma 26:12,

“Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.”

I love this verse for the demonstration of humble joy in service and in the success that comes from working on the Lord’s team. Ammon first acknowledges that he is nothing, that he is weak, but also recognizes that in God’s strength, he can do anything. This is the humble confidence that comes from recognizing how little we are without God, and then putting our faith in Him implicitly as we go forward in life.

This verse has helped me a lot to put things back in perspective. Every time I read it I am humbled and reminded to give gratitude back to Heavenly Father. Everything that I may be proud of, that may feel like a great achievement of mine, or some wonderful trait, really goes back to God. He is the one who has made all of my successes possible by giving me this life, this body, these talents, His guidance, and the life opportunities to achieve greatness. At the same time, this verse also reminds me that when I feel like I am not capable of achieving greatness, I have someone working with me who is. Ammon acknowledges His own powerlessness and weakness before some of the challenges he faced, which is a common occurrence in my own life. I really am weak to accomplish all that is asked of me sometimes. But that is okay! Because I do not need to be strong by myself, my strength comes from relying wholly on the powers of the One who created me and all things in this Earth, who has unlimited power and knowledge and ability to guide me on my way. My strength comes not in my own merits alone, but in the merits I gain as I join the Lord’s team and let Him help me face life’s challenges. This is what Ammon is pointing at in this verse, that our strength comes from our God, and because of that we are capable of so much more than we could do on our own.

I am so grateful for this wonderful example and reminder of where to place trust. In God’s strength I can do all things, and my weaknesses are no longer important. He can make up for the things I struggle with and provide a way for me to live the commandments in the way He requires. I know that I of myself am weak, but when I have my Lord as an ally, I am stronger than anyone could have ever imagined, and that is the source of true strength.

Leave a Reply

