Learning the Mysteries of God

Day to day life takes a lot of attention. As a college student, I feel like I always have some kind of assignment¬†due, somewhere to be, or something demanding my immediate attention and focus to be able to make it through the week. In the midst of all of this, it’s hard to feel like I’m really spending time uncovering the greater truths of the Lord, and devoting time to gaining new knowledge, rather than just going through the motions.

I do, however, wish to learn more and more about God and His plan for us as His children, and my personal role in it all. I have started trying to think more about this, and I believe the more time we spend seeking knowledge, the more Heavenly Father is able to teach us.

In Alma 12, Alma teaches about the eternal principles God has set forth about the acquisition of knowledge of His mysteries.

“And now Alma began to expound these things unto him, saying: It is given unto many to know the mysteries of God; nevertheless they are laid under a strict command that they shall not impart only according to the portion of his word which he doth grant unto the children of men, according to the heed and diligence which they give unto him.

“And therefore, he that will harden his heart, the same receiveth the lesser portion of the word; and he that will not harden his heart, to him is given the greater portion of the word, until it is given unto him to know the mysteries of God until he know them in full.”

Revelation comes to those who listen and receive the doctrine. The more you pay attention to the teachings of the Spirit, or those who have received inspiration, the more you will receive that knowledge you are seeking. The opposite is something that saddens me, that we are the main ones who prevent ourselves from gaining knowledge. I am sure I do this to myself, if I’m ever unwilling to listen to doctrine because it is more difficult to swallow or I’m not in the mood to humbly accept whatever I’m being told.¬†Yet I really do want to continue to look into the mysteries of the Earth and of the kingdom of God and His plan.

I know God does reveal greater knowledge to those who seek it, and I hope I can continue to look for more knowledge, never being lazily content or saying I know enough. There’s always more to gain and learn. Especially concerning my individual role and purpose. And I believe this is true for each and every person out there. We can each take some time out of our busy schedules to really contemplate the bigger, eternal matters, which I do believe will help us have a happier day to day in the end.

Leave a Reply

